Get to know Anna Jennings, Yale gymnast & 3Points summer intern

3Points Communications
4 min readJun 7, 2018

--

The 3Points intern army continues to set new records! After welcoming Notre Dame rising senior Chris Brendza in late May, we were thrilled to have our second summer intern, Anna Jennings, join us this week. Combined with our two spring interns who are wrapping up, that makes four interns in the office this week, which means we’re now regularly getting shown up on our new basketball hoop.

Anna just completed her sophomore year at Yale, where she is a member of the 2018 ECAC champion gymnastics team. Originally from just outside of Indianapolis, she decided to return to the Midwest this summer — and we’re very glad she did! Get to know her more via the Q&A below.

What interested you about 3Points?

3Points’ small number of employees caught my eye from the beginning. Personally, I feel that there is a huge advantage in working in a close-knit, small community of people. After my interviews, I knew this would be a firm that would encourage me as an intern to participate in every aspect of the business, not just busy work, which is an extremely unique quality.

What are you looking forward to learning this summer?

I am looking forward to learning from firsthand experiences this summer. From social media strategy and management to media relations, and from new project presentations to personal clientele interaction, I have been given an amazing opportunity to directly learn from my peers and mentors.

Tell us a cool fact about Yale that most people don’t know

Most people do not know how the dormitory system works at Yale. We refer to our dorms as “colleges.” Every college has a name, mascot, library, color(s), flag, dining hall, kitchen, workout room, and what we call a “buttery.” A buttery is a place to buy cheap late night snack food, play ping pong, or hang out and watch TV with friends. Each individual college has something unique to offer, such as a dance studio, sound room, or a basketball court. In a lot of ways, it’s like Harry Potter. You take a personality test the summer before your freshman year, and then you are placed in one of the 14 colleges for all four undergraduate years, with classmates that share at least one similar interest with you. Some colleges are in alliances with one another, while others are complete rivals.

What has been your favorite class so far?

My creative writing class from the first semester of sophomore year has been my favorite course I’ve taken at Yale. My professor, Derek Green, has an extreme passion for writing and storytelling. His love for teaching was evident, and it mattered to him to make sure we progressed confidently in and out of the classroom. He wanted to challenge our writing capabilities in creative ways, as well as push us to realize our full writing potential.

What’s your favorite part about being on the gymnastics team at Yale?

My favorite part about being on the gymnastics team is the balance that the sport provides in a fast-paced environment like Yale. Gymnastics has given me an immediate place to drop the academic stress, laugh a lot, and meet amazing friends, yet also earn feelings of accomplishment outside of academics. School can be overwhelming, but the gymnastics team has opened up the greatest opportunity for me to grow as a friend and teammate.

What types of things do you like to do outside of school and gymnastics?

I am a counselor for Camp Kesem, which is a nationwide organization that supports children through and beyond their parent’s cancer through a free one-week summer camp put together solely based on donations. My desire to make an impact on children stems from my Christian faith, which is the center of who I am and without a doubt has impacted the way I treat others as well as how I live my life.

On a day-to-day basis, I am an enormous bookworm and journaling addict. You can always find me reading and writing in one of my hundred journals, which all have different purposes: I have journals of reflection, church sermon notes for every Sunday, my devotionals, poetry, random thoughts, funny/memorable life moments, etc.! While moving this summer, I brought a separate suitcase full of all my books and journals to read and write in during the weekend, on the train ride into the city, or after work while sitting outside.

What are you most looking forward to about spending the summer in Chicago?

I am quite the coffee connoisseur, as well as a total foodie and adventure bug. I have never been in Chicago for a long period of time, so I am excited to explore all the different coffee shops, free concerts, and unique food places in the city. Harper Reading Room at the University of Chicago, the Rookery Building, the Crystal Gardens, Chicago Riverwalk, and the secret gardens in Chicago are all on my list of places to go.

As for food, brunch and dessert places are a must. I definitely want to check out the Original Rainbow Cone, Stan’s Doughnuts and Coffee, Ann Sather, and Cone. There are a few coffee shops I’d love to see as well, such as Asado and Sip Coffee House.

--

--